Cost Recovery Advisory Group – 2019 meeting

March 25, 2019
280 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario
10:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Meeting Agenda

  • Introduction/opening remarks
  • Review of last year’s minutes
  • Looking back over the past year (roundtable discussion)
  • Operational management
    • Update on regulatory activity plans (RAPs)
  • Financial management
    • Financial overview
    • Dispute resolution mechanism
  • Other business
  • Concluding comments/next meeting

Meeting Minutes

Licensee participants

Member Industry Represented Work Organization
Steve Coupland Canadian Nuclear Association Canadian Nuclear Association
Connie Leclair, joined by Robin Manley (both via teleconference) Nuclear reactors Ontario Power Generation
Maury Burton Nuclear reactors Bruce Power
Jason Nouwens, joined by Brian Thorne (both via teleconference) Nuclear reactors NB Power
Kevin Nagy
(via teleconference)
Uranium processing facilities and uranium mines Cameco
Richard Wassenaar Nuclear substance processing facilities Nordion
Stephen J. Walker Canadian Council of Independent Laboratories John D. Paterson and Associates Limited
David Paynter
(via teleconference)
Canadian Industrial Radiography Safety Association Buffalo Inspection Services
Corie Kehoe
(via teleconference)
Nuclear substances and prescribed equipment
(oil and gas exploration)
Schlumberger Canada Ltd.
Dan Stunden
(via teleconference)
Nuclear substances and prescribed equipment
(portable gauges)
Stantec
Alan Brady Nuclear substances and prescribed equipment
(Nondestructive Testing Management Association)
Team Industrial Services Inc.

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission participants

Name Position
Liane Sauer Director General, Strategic Planning Directorate (CRAG Chair)
Colin Moses Director General, Directorate of Nuclear Substance Regulation
Hugh Robertson Director General, Directorate of Regulatory Improvement and
Major Projects Management
Daniel Schnob Director General, Finance and Administration Directorate
Claire Pike Director, Regulatory Operations Coordination Division
Tetyana Panichevska Senior Project Officer, Regulatory Operations Coordination Division
John Kiska Financial Specialist, Financial Management and Internal Controls Division
Michelle Woods Financial Advisor, Financial Management and Internal Controls Division
Lee Brunarski Senior Policy Officer, Policy, Aboriginal and International Relations Division (CRAG Secretary)        

10:30 – Meeting commenced.

Introductions and opening remarks

Liane Sauer, the Cost Recovery Advisory Group (CRAG) Chair, opened the meeting and welcomed the participants.
She noted that there had been six changes to the CRAG membership since the last meeting:

  1. Alan Brady from Team Industrial Services Inc. has joined as the Nondestructive Testing Management Association representative in the nuclear substances and prescribed equipment sector.
  2. Corie Kehoe from Schlumberger Canada Ltd. has returned to the CRAG as the oil and gas representative, also in the nuclear substances and prescribed equipment sector.
  3. Richard Wassenaar from Nordion has taken over as the nuclear substance processing facilities representative.
  4. Connie Leclair and Robin Manley are representing Ontario Power Generation, and Connie will be listed as the official CRAG member on the web page.
  5. Jason Nouwens and Brian Thorne are NB Power’s representatives, and Jason will be listed as the official CRAG member on the web page.
  6. Maury Burton has joined as Bruce Power’s representative.

The participants then introduced themselves.

Review of minutes and action items

Liane noted that the minutes of the last meeting had been provided to all CRAG members and would soon be available on the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) website. She added that there were no actions arising from the previous meeting and asked if there were any comments. No comments were made and it was agreed that the minutes were considered final.

The agenda was adopted without objection, amendment or comment.

Looking back over the past year

Liane recounted some notable developments for the CNSC since the last meeting:

  • Rumina Velshi became the new President and CEO of the CNSC in August 2018 for a five-year term.
  • The CNSC’s key priorities under President Velshi are to have a modern approach to nuclear regulation, be a trusted regulator, maintain its global influence and improve its management effectiveness.
  • As a personal commitment, President Velshi also advocates for women and girls in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.
  • We’ve continued collaboration with interdepartmental colleagues to prepare for the implementation of Bill C-69, the proposed legislation to revise federal assessments of major projects.
  • Major public hearings were held for licence renewals for the Bruce and Pickering nuclear generating stations.
  • Public meetings were held for regulatory oversight reports on research reactors and Class IB accelerators, the use of nuclear substances in Canada, Canadian nuclear power generating sites, uranium and nuclear processing facilities, and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories sites.
  • Exercise Synergy Challenge, which simulated a nuclear emergency, was held at the Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station.
  • Ten regulatory documents were updated or published, and consultations were held on six others.
  • Preparations continued for Canada to host an International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Emergency Preparedness Review (EPREV) mission in June 2019 and an Integrated Regulatory Review Service (IRRS) mission in September 2019.
  • Preparations were made for the CNSC Executive Vice-President’s role in leading IRRS missions in the United Kingdom in October 2019 and in Japan in January 2020.
  • Work continued with licensees to ensure the safety of Canada’s nuclear industry.

Operational management

Update on regulatory activity plans

Claire Pike gave an update on regulatory activity plans (RAPs). Key points included clarifying facilities and activities to which RAPs apply, what factors are considered when preparing RAPs and what information RAP packages include. RAP packages include the estimated effort for technical regulatory activities and internal support services, the total estimated effort and fee, and the list of major activities. The 2018–19 RAPs and fee estimates were issued in March 2018.

Reports on the number of licensing and compliance activities completed by the CNSC in fiscal year 2017–18 were issued in July 2018 to fee-paying licensees for Class I nuclear facilities and uranium mine and mill facilities. As applicable to a given facility, the reports include the number of licensing decisions for new licences, licence renewals and licence amendments, as well as the number of Type I and Type II inspections conducted, and if applicable, the number of orders issued.

The CNSC’s target is to issue 2019–20 RAPs and fee estimates by the end of March 2019. The format and level of detail of 2019–20 RAPs will remain largely the same as the 2018–19 RAPs, albeit with an expanded section on technical regulatory and internal support service activities and a new section that describes collective CNSC activities. The report on the number of licensing and compliance activities completed by the CNSC in 2018–19 will be issued to Class I nuclear facilities and uranium mine and mill facilities around the time the final invoices are issued. RAP licensees were encouraged to contact CNSC regulatory program directors or project officers for detailed information about licensing and compliance activities at their facilities and CNSC finance officers for fees-related questions.

Discussion

A CRAG member asked if it was known whether the RAP fees increase for FY 2019–20 would be within the 2–3% range. The member noted that fees have risen considerably more than that average for their facility over the last five years, and the member was directed to try to resolve the issue through the CRAG.

A CNSC participant responded that the fee increase will average about 2.7%. Liane added that the CRAG is a forum for general questions and discussions about cost recovery, and questions about individual or specific fees should be taken up with regulatory program directors. She suggested that members contact her if they feel that satisfactory progress is not being made so she can follow up internally.

Financial management

Financial overview

John Kiska provided a financial overview. He noted that the CNSC’s overall spending increased by $20.3 million (or 13.6%) between 2013–14 and 2018–19. Eighty percent of that increase was the result of economic increases, including retroactive pay, related to new collective agreements for staff and management. During that same period, RAP licensees represented 64% of the CNSC’s activities. Regulatory requirements for formula fees have changed since 2003 to meet industry and other regulatory requirements. However, the fees recovered by the CNSC in formula fees have not kept pace, resulting in a subsidy to formula fees from the funding appropriated to the CNSC by Parliament. The CNSC’s Workforce of the Future Initiative will ensure that the CNSC has the staff necessary for seamless regulation as employees retire. The CNSC anticipates costs will be stable in future years.

Regulatory activity plans

Between 2013–14 and 2018–19, final RAP fees increased by $9.7 million (or 10%), which represents an average yearly increase of $1.9 million (or 2%). During this time, year-end refunds to RAP licensees varied between 0.6 and 7.3%. We paid out $13 million in retroactive pay to CNSC staff in 2017–18, and an additional $1.9 million in 2018–19. A total of $2.4 million was being held in 2019–20 for the next collective agreement. RAPs fees for 2019–20 will increase by $2.8 million from  2018–19.

Formula fees

The CNSC’s regulatory oversight and deliverables for formula fees have changed since 2003 to meet industry and regulatory requirements. Formula fees have been subsidized from the funding appropriated by Parliament to the CNSC by $2.2 million to $3.7 million for the last several years to account for the shortfall in revenues compared to the regulatory effort required. Fees are calculated using the formulas set out in Schedule 1, Part 2 of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Cost Recovery Fees Regulations (CRFR). The hourly rate is calculated yearly based on instructions from Part 3, Section 14 of the CRFR. The yearly increases in formula fees that were phased in starting in 2014–15 will reduce the subsidy from appropriations, and revenues from formula fees are expected to align with costs by 2023–24.

Discussion

A CRAG member asked whether the CNSC expects stability in its costs. A CNSC participant responded that when looking at the level of effort expected going forward and the investments in improvements made in the last few years, such as a new financial system and staff renewal program, no cost spikes are expected in the near future. The goal will remain to keep increases stable at approximately 2% on average. The biggest unknown variable remains economic increases to staff through collective agreements.

A CRAG member asked whether year-to-year increases in full-time equivalent (FTE) effort should be expected. A CNSC participant replied that the resources dedicated to each regulatory program vary depending on what is happening with each licensee. Another CNSC participant added that the CNSC planning process cannot account for future year changes that occur within the nuclear industry, which can impact FTE effort and related costs. That CNSC participant added that the CNSC’s big improvement initiatives are now seen as relatively stable, but there will likely continue to be variation from facility to facility.

A CNSC participant suggested that CRAG members wait until they receive their 2019–20 RAPs to follow up on any questions or concerns with their regulatory program directors.

A CRAG member asked how refunds are allocated. A CNSC participant responded that the industry agreed to a fixed proportion model several years earlier to avoid extra in-year costs and smooth out any large increases and decreases over four or five years. Under the fixed proportion model, refunds are issued proportionally when total revenues exceed total costs. For example, if a RAP licensee’s initial invoice represented 5% of the CNSC’s initial “full costs” but year-end actual costs for all RAP licensees were lower by $1 million, the licensee would receive 5% (or $50,000) of the overall refund.

A CRAG member asked if the CNSC has done any planning for five years out when the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station is forecasted to stop operating to ensure that additional cost burdens are not allocated to other operators. A CNSC participant replied that the CNSC does an extensive environmental scan every year to see where the industry is going and identifies challenges and opportunities for the years ahead, including the Pickering closure.

Other business

Liane noted that prior to the meeting, a CRAG member had suggested as an agenda item that the CNSC provide more information to allow for a better understanding of the CNSC’s planning and costing processes, and specifically, how fees are calculated and refunds are determined. Liane explained that the suggestion was not included as an agenda item, since not all CRAG members receive RAPs. Liane therefore proposed a special meeting on RAPs at a later date, which all fee-paying RAP licensees, whether on CRAG or not, would be invited to attend. With no one objecting and several CRAG members indicating agreement with the proposal, Liane agreed to schedule the meeting and invite CRAG members to participate.
A CRAG member asked whether additional information could be included in RAPs detailing CNSC investments in new technologies and improvements in efficiency. A CNSC participant suggested that that type of information might best be provided during the proposed special meeting on RAPs, and the CRAG member agreed.

Concluding comments/next meeting

Liane stated that the plan is to hold the next CRAG meeting in a year unless other issues arise that require a discussion before then.

Liane thanked CRAG members for their participation and adjourned the meeting at 12:00 p.m.

Date modified:

Groupe consultatif sur le recouvrement des coûts – réunion 2019

Le 25 mars 2019
280, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario)
10 h 30 à 12 h

Ordre du jour

  • Introduction et remarques préliminaires
  • Examen du procès-verbal de l’année dernière
  • Bilan de l’année dernière (tour de table)
  • Gestion opérationnelle
    • Le point sur les plans des activités de réglementation (PAR)
  • Gestion financière
    • Aperçu des finances
    • Mécanisme de résolution des conflits
  • Autres questions
  • Mot de la fin et prochaine réunion

Minutes de la réunion

Titulaires de permis participants

Membre Domaine représenté Organisation
Steve Coupland Association nucléaire canadienne Association nucléaire canadienne
Connie Leclair, accompagnée de Robin Manley (les deux par téléconférence) Réacteurs nucléaires Ontario Power Generation
Maury Burton Réacteurs nucléaires Bruce Power
Jason Nouwens, accompagné de Brian Thorne (les deux par téléconférence) Réacteurs nucléaires Énergie NB
Kevin Nagy
(par téléconférence)
Installations de traitement de l’uranium et mines d’uranium Cameco
Richard Wassenaar Installations de traitement des substances nucléaires Nordion
Stephen J. Walker Conseil canadien des laboratoires indépendants John D. Paterson and Associates Limited
David Paynter (par téléconférence) Association canadienne de sûreté de la gammagraphie industrielle Buffalo Inspection Services
Corie Kehoe
(par téléconférence)
Substances nucléaires et équipement réglementé (exploration pétrolière et gazière) Schlumberger Canada Ltd.
Dan Stunden
(par téléconférence)
Substances nucléaires et équipement réglementé (jauges portatives) Stantec
Alan Brady Substances nucléaires et équipement réglementé (Association pour la gestion des essais non destructifs) Team Industrial Services Inc.

Participants de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Nom Poste
Liane Sauer Directrice générale, Direction de la planification stratégique (présidente du GCRC)
Colin Moses Directeur général, Direction de la réglementation des substances nucléaires
Hugh Robertson Directeur général, Direction de l’amélioration de la réglementation et de la gestion des projets majeurs
Daniel Schnob Directeur général, Direction des finances et de l’administration
Claire Pike Directrice, Division de la coordination de la réglementation des opérations
Tetyana Panichevska Agente principale de projet, Division de la coordination de la réglementation des opérations
John Kiska Spécialiste financier, Division de la gestion financière et des contrôles internes
Michelle Woods Conseillère financière, Division de la gestion financière et des contrôles internes
Lee Brunarski Agent principal en politiques, Division des politiques et des affaires autochtones et internationales (secrétaire du GCRC)

10 h 30 – Ouverture de la séance

Introduction et remarques préliminaires

Liane Sauer, présidente du Groupe consultatif sur le recouvrement des coûts (GCRC), ouvre la séance et souhaite la bienvenue aux participants.

Elle mentionne qu’il y a eu six changements à la composition du GCRC depuis la dernière réunion :

  1. Alan Brady, de Team Industrial Services Inc., s’est joint au Groupe à titre de représentant de l’Association pour la gestion des essais non destructifs du secteur des substances nucléaires et de l’équipement réglementé.
  2. Corie Kehoe, de Schlumberger Canada Ltd., revient au sein du Groupe comme représentant de l’exploration pétrolière et gazière, également pour le secteur des substances nucléaire et de l’équipement réglementé.
  3. Richard Wassenaar, de Nordion, devient représentant des installations de traitement des substances nucléaires.
  4. Connie Leclair et Robin Manley représentent Ontario Power Generation, et le nom de Connie apparaîtra sur la page Web comme membre officielle du GCRC.
  5. Jason Nouwens et Brian Thorne sont les représentants d’Énergie NB, et le nom de Jason apparaîtra sur la page Web comme membre officiel du GCRC.
  6. Maury Burton se joint comme représentante de Bruce Power.

Les participants se présentent.

Examen du procès-verbal et des mesures de suivi

Liane fait remarquer que le procès-verbal de la dernière réunion a déjà été distribué à tous les membres du GCRC et qu’il sera bientôt disponible sur le site Web de la CCSN. Elle ajoute qu’il n’y avait aucune mesure issue de la dernière réunion et demande s’il y a des commentaires. Aucun commentaire n’est formulé et les membres conviennent que le procès-verbal est considéré comme étant définitif.

L’ordre du jour est adopté sans objection, modification ou commentaire.

Bilan de l’année dernière

Liane évoque certains des principaux développements à la CCSN depuis la dernière réunion :

  • Mme Rumina Velshi a été nommée présidente et première dirigeante de la CCSN en août 2018 pour un mandat de cinq ans.
  • Les cinq priorités de la CCSN sous la gouverne de la présidente Velshi sont que la CCSN applique une approche moderne de la réglementation nucléaire, soit un organisme de réglementation fiable, maintienne son influence mondiale et améliore l’efficacité de sa gestion.
  • La présidente Velshi a également pris l’engagement personnel de faire la promotion des carrières en science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM) pour les femmes et les filles.
  • La collaboration s’est poursuivie avec des collègues d’autres ministères afin de nous préparer à la mise en œuvre du projet de loi C-69, la législation proposée pour réviser les évaluations fédérales des grands projets.
  • Il y a eu de grandes audiences publiques pour le renouvellement des permis des centrales nucléaires de Bruce et de Pickering.
  • Il y a eu des réunions publiques pour présenter les rapports de surveillance réglementaire sur les réacteurs de recherche et les accélérateurs de catégorie IB, l’utilisation des substances nucléaires au Canada, les sites de centrales nucléaires au Canada, les installations de traitement de l’uranium et des substances nucléaires et les sites des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens.
  • Il y a eu l’exercice Défi Synergy, qui simulait une urgence nucléaire à la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau.
  • Dix documents d’application de la réglementation ont été mis à jour ou publiés et six autres ont fait l’objet de consultations.
  • Les préparatifs se sont poursuivis pour la tenue au Canada de la mission du service d’examen de la préparation aux situations d’urgence (EPREV) de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) en juin 2019 et de la mission du Service d’examen intégré de la réglementation (SEIR) en septembre 2019.
  • Des préparatifs sont en cours pour appuyer le premier vice-président de la CCSN qui dirigera des missions du SEIR au Royaume-Uni en octobre 2019 et au Japon en janvier 2020.
  • La collaboration s’est poursuivie avec les titulaires de permis pour assurer la sûreté de l’industrie nucléaire du Canada.

Gestion opérationnelle

Le point sur les plans des activités de réglementation

Claire Pike fait le point sur les plans des activités de réglementation (PAR). Les principaux points comprennent des précisions sur les installations et les activités pour lesquelles des PAR s’appliquent, les facteurs à prendre en considération au moment de préparer les PAR ainsi que les renseignements à inclure dans les trousses des PAR. Les trousses des PAR comprennent l’estimation des efforts pour les activités de réglementation technique et les services de soutien interne, l’estimation totale des efforts et des droits ainsi que la liste des principales activités. Les PAR pour 2018-2019 ainsi que l’estimation des droits ont été émis en mars 2018.

Les rapports sur le nombre d’activités d’autorisation et de conformité réalisées par la CCSN en 2017-2018 ont été transmis en juillet 2018 aux titulaires de permis qui paient des droits pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie I et les mines et usines de concentration d’uranium. Selon l’installation concernée, les rapports comprennent le nombre de décisions d’autorisation pour la délivrance de nouveaux permis, les renouvellements de permis et les modifications de permis, ainsi que le nombre d’inspections de type I et de type II réalisées et, s’il y a lieu, le nombre d’ordres délivrés.

L’objectif de la CCSN est de distribuer les PAR et les estimations des droits pour 2019-2020 au plus tard à la fin de mars 2019. Le format et le niveau de détail des PAR de 2019-2020 demeureront principalement les mêmes que pour les PAR de 2018-2019, mais ils fourniront plus d’information sur les activités de réglementation technique et les services de soutien interne et comprendront une nouvelle section qui décrit les activités collectives de la CCSN. Le rapport sur le nombre d’activités d’autorisation et de conformité réalisées par la CCSN en 2018-2019 sera transmis aux titulaires de permis d’installations nucléaires de catégorie I et de mines et d’usines de concentration d’uranium à peu près au moment où les factures finales seront émises. Les titulaires de permis ayant un PAR sont encouragés à communiquer avec les directeurs des programmes de réglementation ou les agents de projet appropriés de la CCSN pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les activités d’autorisation et de conformité à venir dans leurs installations, et avec les agents financiers de la CCSN s’ils ont des questions liées aux droits.

Discussion

Un membre du GCRC demande si l’augmentation des droits des PAR pour l’exercice 2019-2020 se situera dans une marge de 2 à 3 %. Le membre souligne que les droits ont augmenté considérablement plus que cette moyenne pour son installation au cours des cinq dernières années et qu’il a reçu la directive d’essayer de résoudre ce problème par l’entremise du GCRC.

Un participant de la CCSN répond que l’augmentation des droits tournera autour de 2,7 %. Liane ajoute que le GCRC est un forum pour poser des questions et tenir des discussions générales sur le recouvrement des coûts, et que les questions concernant des droits individuels ou précis devraient être portées à l’attention des directeurs des programmes de réglementation. Si les membres ne sont pas satisfaits des progrès, elle suggère qu’ils communiquent avec elle afin qu’elle puisse faire un suivi à l’interne.

Gestion financière

Vue d’ensemble de la situation financière

John Kiska présente une vue d’ensemble de la situation financière. Il mentionne que les dépenses générales de la CCSN ont augmenté de 20,3 millions de dollars ou 13,6 % entre 2013-2014 et 2018-2019. Quatre-vingt pourcent de cette hausse découle des augmentations économiques, notamment les paiements rétroactifs en lien avec les nouvelles conventions collectives pour les employés et la direction. Au cours de la même période, les titulaires de permis ayant un PAR ont représenté 64 % des activités de la CCSN. Les exigences réglementaires pour les droits calculés à l’aide de formules ont changé depuis 2003 afin de respecter les exigences réglementaires et du secteur. Toutefois, les droits calculés à l’aide de formules recouvrés par la CCSN n’ont pas suivi le même rythme, ce qui a nécessité un financement pour ces droits provenant des crédits accordés par le Parlement à la CCSN. L’initiative sur l’effectif de l’avenir de la CCSN garantira que la CCSN dispose de l’effectif nécessaire pour assurer une réglementation continue au fil des départs à la retraite. La CCSN anticipe une stabilité dans les coûts au cours des prochaines années.

Plans des activités de réglementation

Entre 2013-2014 et 2018-2019, les droits finaux des PAR ont augmenté de 9,7 millions de dollars ou 10 %, ce qui représente une augmentation moyenne annuelle de 1,9 million de dollars ou 2 %. Au cours de cette période, les remboursements en fin d’exercice aux titulaires de permis ayant des PAR ont varié entre 0,6 et 7,3 %. En 2017-2018, 13 millions de dollars ont été versés en paiements rétroactifs aux employés de la CCSN, avec 1,9 million de dollars supplémentaires en 2018-2019. En 2019-200, 2,4 millions de dollars ont été mis de côté en vue de la prochaine convention collective. Les droits des PAR pour 2019-2020 augmenteront de 2,8 millions de dollars par rapport à 2018-2019.

Droits calculés à l’aide de formules

La surveillance réglementaire et les produits livrables de la CCSN pour les droits calculés à l’aide de formules ont changé depuis 2003 afin de respecter les exigences réglementaires et du secteur. Les droits calculés à l’aide de formules ont été financés à même les crédits accordés par le Parlement à la CCSN au montant de 2,2 millions de dollars à 3,7 millions de dollars au cours des dernières années afin de combler le manque de recettes pour couvrir les efforts réglementaires requis. Les droits sont calculés au moyen des formules établies à la Partie 2 de l’Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les droits pour le recouvrement des coûts (RDRC). Le taux horaire est calculé annuellement à partir des consignes indiquées à la section 14 de la Partie 3 du RDRC. Les augmentations annuelles des droits calculés à l’aide de formules qui sont mises en œuvre de manière graduelle depuis 2014-2015 permettront de réduire le financement nécessaire à partir des crédits. Les recettes provenant des droits calculés à l’aide de formules devraient être proportionnelles aux coûts d’ici 2023-2024.

Discussion

Un membre du GCRC demande si la CCSN s’attend à ce qu’il y ait stabilité dans ses coûts. Un participant de la CCSN répond que lorsqu’on regarde le niveau d’effort attendu pour les années à venir ainsi que les investissements faits dans les améliorations au cours des dernières années, comme le nouveau système financier et le programme de renouvellement du personnel, aucune hausse prononcée des coûts n’est attendue dans un avenir rapproché. L’objectif est de maintenir des augmentations stables à environ 2 % en moyenne. Le principal inconnu demeure les augmentations économiques accordées aux employés dans le cadre des conventions collectives.

Un membre du GCRC demande s’il faut s’attendre à des augmentations annuelles des efforts par équivalent temps plein. Un participant de la CCSN répond que les ressources allouées à chaque programme de réglementation dépendent des activités de chaque titulaire de permis. Un autre participant de la CCSN ajoute que le processus de planification de la CCSN ne peut tenir compte des changements qui surviendront au cours des prochaines années au sein du secteur nucléaire, lesquels pourraient avoir un impact sur les efforts par ETP et les coûts connexes. Ce même participant de la CCSN souligne que les principales initiatives d’amélioration de la CCSN sont maintenant relativement stables, mais qu’on continuera probablement de voir une variation d’une installation à l’autre.

Un participant de la CCSN suggère que les membres du GCRC attendent de recevoir leurs PAR de 2019-2020 pour faire un suivi concernant les questions ou préoccupations qu’ils pourraient avoir auprès des directeurs des programmes de réglementation.

Un membre du GCRC demande comment les remboursements sont accordés. Un participant de la CCSN répond que le secteur a convenu d’un modèle à proportion fixe il y a plusieurs années de cela afin d’éviter des coûts supplémentaires en cours d’année et pour amortir les augmentations ou diminutions importantes sur une période de quatre à cinq ans. En vertu du modèle à proportion fixe, des remboursements sont versés de manière proportionnelle lorsque les recettes totales dépassent les coûts totaux. Par exemple, si la facture initiale d’un titulaire de permis ayant un PAR représente 5 % des « coûts totaux » initiaux de la CCSN, mais qu’en fin d’exercice, les coûts réels pour tous les titulaires de permis ayant un PAR sont inférieurs par un million de dollars, le titulaire de permis recevrait alors 5 % ou 50 000 $ du remboursement global.

Un membre du GCRC demande si la CCSN a fait une planification pour les cinq prochaines années lorsque la centrale nucléaire de Pickering devrait cesser ses opérations, afin qu’aucun fardeau financier supplémentaire ne soit imposé aux autres exploitants. Un participant de la CCSN répond que la CCSN procède à une analyse de l’environnement exhaustive chaque année afin de voir dans quelle direction le secteur s’en va et de cerner les défis et les possibilités pour les années à venir, ce qui comprend la fermeture de Pickering.

Autres questions

Liane mentionne qu’avant la réunion, un membre du GCRC a suggéré, comme point à l’ordre du jour, que la CCSN fournisse plus d’information pour clarifier ses processus de planification et d’établissement des coûts, et plus particulièrement la façon dont les droits sont calculés et les remboursements sont déterminés. Liane explique que la suggestion n’a pas été incluse à l’ordre du jour puisque ce ne sont pas tous les membres du GCRC qui reçoivent des PAR. Elle propose donc une réunion spéciale sur les PAR à une date ultérieure, à laquelle tous les titulaires de permis payant des droits au moyen d’un PAR, qu’ils soient membres ou non du GCRC, seront invités. Puisque plusieurs membres du GCRC sont en accord avec cette proposition et qu’il n’y a aucune objection, Liane s’engage à planifier une réunion et à inviter les membres du GCRC à y participer.

Un membre du GCRC demande s’il serait possible d’inclure dans les PAR des renseignements supplémentaires décrivant en détail les investissements de la CCSN dans les nouvelles technologies et les améliorations pour faire des gains d’efficience. Un participant de la CCSN suggère que la meilleure plateforme pour présenter ce type d’information serait probablement la réunion spéciale proposée sur les PAR et le membre concerné du GCRC se dit d’accord.

Mot de la fin et prochaine réunion

Liane indique que la prochaine réunion du GCRC serait tenue dans un an, à moins que des questions ou des problèmes nécessitant une discussion ne soient soulevés avant.

Liane remercie les membres du GCRC de leur participation à cette réunion et lève la séance à 12 h.


Dernière mise à jour :