Participant funding for Orano Canada Inc.’s licence amendment application for the expansion of the JEB Tailings Management Facility at the McClean Lake Operation

This participant funding offering is open from February 1 to April 1, 2021.

Participant funding notice

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) will hold a one-part public hearing in September 2021 to consider an application from Orano Canada Inc. (Orano) to amend its uranium mine operating licence for the expansion of the JEB Tailings Management Facility at the McClean Lake Operation. The McClean Lake Operation is located in the Athabasca Basin of northern Saskatchewan, approximately 750 kilometres north of Saskatoon.

The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist Indigenous peoples, members of the public, and stakeholders in reviewing Orano’s application and associated documents, and in participating in the Commission hearing process by providing topic-specific interventions to the Commission. 

Up to $100,000 in participant funding will be disbursed among all eligible applicants for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. Funding will be awarded for the review of documentation, including CNSC staff’s documents and Orano’s Commission member documents, and for participation in the public Commission hearing. Funding for travel to the Commission hearing is within the scope of this opportunity. However, due to potential travel restrictions or limitations relating to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Commission will announce at a later date whether there will be in-person oral presentations at the Commission hearing.

To apply, please submit a participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. You can submit the form by:

  • Email: mailto:pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o Participant Funding Program administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON, Canada  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086

Deadline for submitting a participant funding application: April 1, 2021.

A funding review committee that is independent of the CNSC will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

For information on how to participate, consult the Participate in a public Commission hearing and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Adam Zenobi
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-415-2814
pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Date modified:

Financement des participants offert pour l’examen de la demande de modification de permis d’Orano pour pouvoir agrandir l’installation de gestion des résidus JEB à l’établissement de McClean Lake

Les demandes de financement des participants pour l’examen de cette demande seront acceptées du 1er février au 1er avril 2021.

Avis de financement des participants

En septembre 2021, la CCSN tiendra une audience publique en une partie afin d’examiner la demande d’Orano Canada Inc. (Orano) concernant la modification de son permis d’exploitation d’une mine d’uranium pour pouvoir agrandir l’installation de gestion des résidus JEB à l’établissement de McClean Lake. Ce dernier est situé dans le bassin de l’Athabasca, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan, à environ 750 km au nord de Saskatoon.

La CCSN offre du financement pour aider les peuples autochtones, le public et les parties intéressées à examiner la demande d’Orano et les documents connexes, et à participer au processus d’audience de la Commission en présentant des interventions propres au sujet examiné.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 100 000 $ sera répartie parmi l’ensemble des demandeurs admissibles pour la présentation de renseignements nouveaux et utiles à la Commission au moyen d’interventions propres au sujet examiné. L’aide financière sera attribuée pour l’examen de la documentation, notamment les documents du personnel de la CCSN et d’Orano à l’intention des commissaires, et pour la participation à l’audience publique de la Commission. Une aide financière pour se rendre à l’audience de la Commission est prévue, mais puisque des limites ou des restrictions pourraient être imposées sur les déplacements en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, la Commission annoncera plus tard s’il y aura des présentations orales en personne.

Pour faire une demande de financement, il faut remplir et soumettre un formulaire de demande de financement des participants et respecter certaines conditions générales. Le formulaire de demande peut être soumis par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Date limite pour soumettre une demande de financement : le 1er avril 2021.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de participer, consultez les sections Participer à une audience publique de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants du site Web de la CCSN.

Pour toute question sur cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec :

Adam Zenobi
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-415-2814
pfp-pafp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Dernière mise à jour :