Regulatory action – Trenergy Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

April 26, 2019

Update on regulatory action issued to Trenergy Inc.

On April 26, 2019, the CNSC confirmed that Trenergy Inc. has complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 20, 2019. CNSC staff reviewed the corrective measures implemented by the company and found these measures to be satisfactory.

March 20, 2019

Order issued to Trenergy Inc.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Trenergy Inc., a company based in St. Catharines, Ontario. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following an event review conducted by CNSC staff at the company’s St. Catharines location. During the review, a worker was found operating an exposure device without current certification and without being under the direct supervision of a certified exposure device operator. It was also found that the company did not have adequate management control of its radiation protection program.

The order requires the company to immediately place all radioactive materials in secure storage and to cease all activities involving radioactive materials until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there is effective management control of the radiation protection program and work practices.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

2017

March 2, 2017

Update on regulatory action issued to Trenergy Inc.

On February 28, 2017, the CNSC confirmed Trenergy Inc. has complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on January 12, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

January 24, 2017

Order issued to Trenergy Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on January 12, 2017 to Trenergy Inc, a company based in St. Catharines, ON. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s St. Catharines location. The inspection identified non-compliances in regards to the implementation of the company’s radiation protection program and the ascertainment of radiation doses to some of its workers. The inspection also identified several non-compliances in the areas of record keeping and regulatory reporting.

The order requires the licensee to prohibit any workers who have not been issued required radiation detection equipment from operating an exposure device. The company must also retrain all of its workers who use exposure devices on their obligations for the use of radiation ascertainment equipment, and implement any other corrective measures required to prevent recurrence of this non-compliance.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Trenergy Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN)et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

26 avril 2019

Mise à jour sur la mesure réglementaire imposée à Trenergy Inc.

Le 26 avril 2019, la CCSN a confirmé que Trenergy Inc. s’était conformée à toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 20 mars 2019. Le personnel de la CCSN a examiné les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise et a jugée qu’elles étaient satisfaisantes.

20 mars 2019

Ordre délivré à Trenergy Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Trenergy Inc., une entreprise établie à St. Catharines (Ontario), titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des substances nucléaires dans des appareils de gammagraphie industrielle aux fins d’essais de matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite de l’examen d’un événement effectué par le personnel de la CCSN au site de St. Catharines de l’entreprise. Pendant cet examen, il a été constaté qu’un travailleur utilisait un appareil d’exposition sans accréditation à jour et sans être sous la supervision directe d’un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition accrédité. Il a aussi été constaté que la direction n’exerçait pas un contrôle efficace sur son programme de radioprotection.

L’ordre exige que Trenergy Inc. mette immédiatement toutes les matières radioactives en stockage sûr et cesse toutes ses activités avec des matières radioactives jusqu’à ce qu’elle puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction exerce un contrôle efficace sur son programme de radioprotection et sur les pratiques de travail.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

2017

2 mars 2017

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Trenergy Inc.

Le 28 février 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Trenergy Inc. s'était conformé à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 12 janvier 2017. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

24 janvier 2017

Ordre délivré à Trenergy Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd'hui qu'elle avait délivré un ordre le 12 janvier 2017 à Trenergy Inc, une entreprise établie à St. Catharines (Ontario). L'entreprise est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires dans des appareils de gammagraphie industrielle aux fins d'essais de matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à l'entreprise à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN à son installation de St. Catharines. L'inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre du programme de radioprotection de Trenergy Inc. et à la détermination des doses de rayonnement reçues par certains travailleurs. Elle a aussi permis de dégager plusieurs cas de non-conformité dans le domaine de la tenue de dossiers et de la production de rapports réglementaires.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise à tout travailleur qui n'a pas reçu de détecteur de rayonnement d'utiliser un appareil à rayonnement. L'entreprise doit aussi offrir aux employés qui se servent de ces appareils une nouvelle formation sur leurs obligations concernant l'utilisation d'un dosimètre individuel et prendre toutes les mesures correctives requises pour éviter qu'une telle non-conformité se reproduise.

Dernière mise à jour :