Regulatory action – Soil-Mat Engineers & Consulting

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

May 16, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd.

On May 16, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on April 25, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

April 25, 2018

Order issued to Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd., a company based in Hamilton, Ontario. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the licensee’s Hamilton facility. The inspection identified non-compliances with management oversight of the radiation protection program. Additionally, non-compliances regarding prescribed records and assessing and recording doses to workers were identified.

The order requires the licensee to place its portable nuclear gauges into storage until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there are effective management controls over the radiation protection program and that all non-compliances identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Soil-Mat Engineers & Consulting Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

16 mai 2018

Mise à jour sur la mesure réglementaire prise à l’égard de Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd.

Le 16 mai 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd. s’était conformé à toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 25 avril 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

25 avril 2018

Ordre délivré à Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire a délivré un ordre à Soil-Mat Engineers & Consultants Ltd., une entreprise établie à Hamilton (Ontario) qui est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à l’installation de Hamilton du titulaire de permis. L’inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la surveillance, par la direction, du programme de radioprotection. Des non-conformités ont aussi été relevées concernant la tenue de dossiers réglementés et l’évaluation et la consignation des doses aux travailleurs.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis entrepose ses jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu’il a mis en place des mesures efficaces pour assurer le contrôle, par la direction, du programme de radioprotection et que tous les cas de non-conformité figurant dans le rapport d’inspection ont été corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :