Regulatory action – Gem Testing Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

September 25, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to GEM Testing Ltd.

On September 25, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that GEM Testing Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on September 13, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

September 13, 2018

Order issued to GEM Testing Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to GEM Testing Ltd., a company based in Dunmore, Alberta. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Cypress County, Alberta. The inspection identified non-compliances with regard to adherence to the company’s operating procedures by its workers. Additionally, non-compliances related to the company’s implementation and management oversight of its radiation protection program were observed.

The order requires the licensee to immediately remove one of its workers from all activities involving radiation devices until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker has been adequately retrained and that all non-compliances identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

2016

January 12, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to GEM Testing Ltd.

On January 12, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that GEM Testing Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on December 4, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

2015

December 15, 2015

Order to GEM Testing Ltd.

On December 4, 2015, the CNSC issued an order to GEM Testing Ltd., a company based in Dunmore, AB, that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the head office in Dunmore, during which the CNSC noted deficiencies in how the company was managing its radiation protection program. The order requires GEM Testing Ltd. to cease using the radiation devices prescribed in its licence until it addresses the non-compliances to the CNSC’s satisfaction.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers and the public, as well as the environment.

2013

September 12, 2013

Order to GEM Testing Ltd.

On September 12, 2013, the CNSC announced it had issued an order to GEM Testing Ltd.

GEM Testing Ltd. is based in Dunmore, Alberta, and offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The CNSC issued the order on September 6 as a result of observations made during inspections at two of the licensee's work sites in Medicine Hat, Alberta. The order requires GEM Testing Ltd. to immediately prohibit two of its workers from transporting portable nuclear gauges until it can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the CNSC that these workers have been effectively retrained in the proper transport of radioactive devices and packages.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to prevent unreasonable risk to the health and safety of these persons, as well as to the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – GEM Testing Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

25 septembre 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de GEM Testing Ltd.

Le 25 septembre 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que GEM Testing Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 13 septembre 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

13 septembre 2018

Ordre délivré à GEM Testing Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à GEM Testing Ltd., une entreprise établie à Dunmore (Alberta), titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection sur le terrain effectuée par la CCSN à Cypress County (Alberta). L’inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés au respect des procédures opérationnelles de l’entreprise par ses travailleurs. L’inspection a également permis de constater des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la supervision de son programme de radioprotection par la direction.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise immédiatement à l’un de ses employés d’utiliser des appareils à rayonnement jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le travailleur a reçu une formation de recyclage adéquate et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés dans le rapport d’inspection ont été réglés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

2016

12 janvier 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de GEM Testing Ltd.

Le 12 janvier 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que GEM Testing Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 4 décembre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

2015

15 décembre 2015

Ordre délivré à GEM Testing Ltd.

Le 4 décembre 2015, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à GEM Testing Ltd., une entreprise établie à Dunmore (Alberta) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN au siège social du titulaire de permis à Dunmore, au cours de laquelle la CCSN a relevé des lacunes dans la façon dont l’entreprise gère son programme de radioprotection. L’ordre exige que GEM Testing Ltd. cesse d’utiliser les appareils à rayonnement indiqués dans son permis jusqu’à ce qu’elle règle les cas de non­conformité à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

2013

12 septembre 2013

Ordre délivré à GEM Testing Ltd.

Le 12 septembre 2013, la CCSN a annoncé qu'elle avait délivré un ordre à GEM Testing Ltd.

GEM Testing Ltd. est située à Dunmore (Alberta) et offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L'entreprise est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN qui l'autorise à posséder, transférer, utiliser et stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives.

La CCSN a délivré l'ordre le 6 septembre à la suite d'observations faites lors d'une inspection à deux des installations du titulaire de permis à Medicine Hat (Alberta). L'ordre exige que GEM Testing Ltd. interdise immédiatement à deux de ses employés de transporter des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu'à ce qu'elle puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que ces derniers ont reçu une formation de recyclage efficace sur le transport approprié des appareils à rayonnement et des colis de substances radioactives.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de prévenir les risques déraisonnables pour la santé et la sécurité de ces personnes ainsi que pour le public et l'environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :