Regulatory Action – Rio Algom Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

September 18, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Rio Algom Ltd.

On September 18, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Rio Algom Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the regulatory action issued on January 29, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

January 29, 2018

Regulatory action issued to Rio Algom Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission has issued a request for information, pursuant to subsection 12(2) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, to Rio Algom Ltd. The request was issued following an exceedance of the monthly average discharge limit for radium-226 at the licensee’s Elliot Lake operations. The licensee must take action as described in the request and conduct an analysis of their corrective actions and environmental protection programs in order to prevent recurrence. The licensee must also regularly report to the CNSC on the status of implementation of the corrective actions taken.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Rio Algom Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

18 septembre 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Rio Algom Ltd.

Le 18 septembre 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Rio Algom Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de la mesure réglementaire délivré le 29 janvier. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

29 janvier 2018

Mesure réglementaire délivrée à Rio Algom Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a envoyé une demande d’information à Rio Algom Ltd., conformément au paragraphe 12(2) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. La demande a été présentée à la suite d’un dépassement de la limite mensuelle moyenne pour le rejet de radium 226 aux sites d’Elliot Lake. Le titulaire de permis doit prendre les mesures décrites dans la demande et effectuer une analyse de ses mesures correctives et de ses programmes de protection de l’environnement afin que la situation ne se reproduise plus. Le titulaire de permis doit aussi fournir régulièrement à la CCSN des rapports sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des mesures correctives.

Dernière mise à jour :